top of page

Data in the days of COVID

I've been busy keeping the Radiopaedia.org page on COVID-19 updated among many other things. Before the pandemic started, I was lucky enough to get training in Europe for 3D medical printing, and now I see many in the 3D printing community trying to help with the pandemic. To be sure, as supply chains break, there is a role for all of us, 3D printers and computer programmers, in fighting this disease. I applaud the initiative of many makers and hackers, but in my humble opinion, some do not know how to start an efficient useful projectc. I am therefore suggesting something here for both makers and hackers. I tried to make a beautiful flowchart- but I don't have the skills to do it in 10 minutes before my 10 month old wakes up. This is an example of being real about my capacity and abilities. A more pertinent example for some printers would be to asses if you can print something that does not deform when auto-claved or have an alternative sterilization system available. I'll summarize my general notes for people by writing this one idea: talk to three other people (preferably not in person), and get the input of a licensed medical professional before you DO anything. If you understand the needs and capabilities of your local medical system and community, you can make something useful. If not you are going to just waste precious resources a bunch of useless programs, digits, meshes, or even 3D printed objects that don't actually help anyone.


bottom of page